Mean Girl Baristas

I’m not a coffee expert but I know what I like, and what I don’t like: burnt taste, lukewarm temperature and icky aftertaste that makes you shiver a little. I’ve gotten better at asking baristas to remake my coffee if any of the above applies. I am not ridiculous about it but at $5 a cup, I am not going to drink something I don’t like.  Most of the time, it’s as simple as warming the coffee up a bit. Last week, I had two bad experiences with baristas at different cafés and both times, after I politely requested a new coffee (or in one case, that my lukewarm coffee be warmed up), I found myself apologizing multiple times as the women rolled their eyes at me and seemed genuinely put out and pissed off while remaking my latté. I should add that neither  café was busy and I was the only one in line. Both times I left the café wondering why the hell had I apologized multiple times when I wasn’t the one who made a shitty cup of jo.

M.H.

Leave a comment