Crash Pad

That time when I had a huge project due at work and a professional acquaintance (not quite a friend, but you know) who was coming to town asked if they could crash at our place.  I told him I’d be super busy and a pretty crap host, but of course he could stay.  What ended up happening was me staying up to entertain him because it seemed rude not to, and then staying up later to finish the project (which left me exhausted and the project late).  I should have just said no.  But here’s the rub:  should he have taken the hint when I said I had major work to finish up?  Or did I screw myself for not being direct?

G.M.

Leave a Reply

