The Hotel From Hell

We were away for the weekend recently, visiting friends in a different city. When we got to our hotel room, we heard a loud drilling noise. When I went into the bedroom (it was an apartment-style room) and opened the curtains, I saw a dozen construction workers, hammering, moving stuff and drilling cement, a stone’s throw from us. When they hadn’t stopped working at 8 p.m., I went down to reception and asked what time they usually finish. “They can work until 10 p.m.,” the hotel staff member told me. “And they usually start around 7 a.m.

Annoying for anyone, sure, but we have a baby who goes to sleep at 6:30 and has a nap in the morning at 8 a.m.. The hotel knew we have a baby as I requested a crib, and yet they still put us in the closest room to the construction site. I asked to be moved right away and was told it wouldn’t be possible until the next day. The next day, I asked again. The girl working at the desk was annoyed but said we could move to a room across the floor if we moved everything ourselves. I was angry and yet I still apologized for the inconvenience. Why? I feel like this happens often at hotels and there’s something wrong with that.

M.G.

Leave a Reply

