Saying “Sorry”

We were at the park over the weekend and an older kid came up to me, pointed at my five year-old and asked, “Is that your son?”  When I told him that it was, this kid proceeded to tell me that my son had called him names.  I was a little shocked as I hadn’t even seen my son playing with this kid, but still, I called my son over and made him apologize.  Only later, as we were walking home, did I wonder if I had done the right thing.  On the one hand, I want my son to be held accountable if he hurts someone’s feelings, but on the other isn’t tattling bad? Am I being an over-protective mom or did I do something bad by taking this kids word for it? Did I just give my son his first lesson on being too nice?

Anonymous

Leave a Reply

