Best Friends

Its the first week of school and both my son and I are meeting new people.  He wanted to play at the park one day after school let out, so we went.  One of the new moms I had just met was there with her kid, too, and I thought it would be a good chance to get to know her better.  I was trying to encourage my son, who is a little shy, to play with some of the other kids his age so I could chat with this lady. I spotted one of our neighbor’s kids, who is exactly my son’s age, walked my son over and said, “Look, here’s Jason, maybe you two can play together?”  Jason turned to my son and said “I don’t want to play with him. He’s not my friend.” I almost lost it. I get that kids will be kids and that the beauty of their innocence is that they say exactly what they mean, or whatever.  But it was all I could do not to utter, “Go fuck yourself, Jason.”

Leave a Reply

