Working It Out

With all this work-life balance talk going on these days, I wanted to ask: how can we own the reality of what we’re able to offer as employees?  For example, every time I’m late due to a family event (last-minute diaper blowout, random attack of nausea, forgotten homework) I feel the need to apologize to my co-workers and explain the circumstances of the event. I then end up feeling like I’m making excuses. Why can’t I just breeze in and own the fact that my kids needed me for an extra 10 minutes today and I didn’t say “No?”

DM

Leave a Reply

