Hey, buddy!

We’re walking to school the other day and a boy runs up to my son and says “Hey, buddy.” To which my son replies, “I’m not your buddy.”  Thrown a little by his blunt statement, and aware that the boy’s mom was walking behind us, I felt like I needed to say something so I opted for: “That wasn’t very nice.”  “But mom,” he replied, “he is the meanest boy in the class. He’s always laughing at me.”  Is it wrong that I was instantly filled with pride over the fact that my little dude was brave enough to tell it like it is straight to a bully’s face?

Anonymous

Leave a Reply

