Playground Pushover

I often see moms at the playground who have no problem telling other people’s kids to put down a stick or stop pushing.  I also see people on the commuter train who have no problem asking the person next to them to turn down their loud music.  I’m not like these people.  I have no idea why other people’s children intimidate me and I don’t know why I’d rather listen to someone else’s playlist rather than ask them to keep it down.  Is it because I’m nice? Or is it because I’m a pushover?  Or do I just hate confrontation that much? The thing is that I’m ok with analyzing the behavior in myself, but now I wonder what kind of example I’m setting for my kids when I encourage them to walk away instead of standing their ground.

Leave a Reply

